Skip to content
Brokaro
Scalable Capital logo

Review

Scalable Capital

Scalable Capital Bank GmbH

Germany's most complete savings-plan platform, now running on its own banking licence - and quietly repricing itself.

Group index 88/100Protection depends on your legal entity
BaFinECBBundesbank
  • Top-tier regulation
Website
Not verified

Data as of: 21 Aug 2026. This record has not yet been double-checked by a human. Please verify every figure against the broker's own fee schedule. Sources & data provenance

Risk warning: investing in securities involves risk. You may lose some or all of the capital you invest.

Advertising disclosure: where a partnership is active, we may earn a commission through broker links. The provider’s terms apply. Commissions do not influence our ratings; paid placements are separately labelled as sponsored.

Editorial score

No reviews yet — be the first.

Stocks (per order)
€1.99
Minimum deposit
None
Founded
2014
Headquarters
Munich, Germany
Exchanges
3
Data as of
21 Aug 2026

Our verdict

Editorial verdict3.9

Scalable is the strongest choice in the DACH market for someone who wants one account to hold a savings plan, a lump-sum portfolio, a cash reserve earning 2.60% and optionally a managed mandate. The savings-plan catalogue is genuinely the deepest in Europe and every execution is free from EUR 1; PRIME+ at EUR 4.99 a month turns unlimited trading into a fixed cost that pays for itself at about five orders a month; and German residents get Abgeltungsteuer handled at source.

Be clear-eyed about the limits. You trade on exactly three German venues - EIX, gettex and Xetra - with no direct access to Nasdaq, NYSE or the LSE, and on EIX Scalable itself is the single market maker, so the default route has the same broker-as-counterparty structure the industry moved to after the PFOF ban. The account is euro-only with no itemised FX line. Support is chat and email with no phone number and a reputation for slow replies, particularly around tax documents. And the pricing moved on 1 September 2026: gettex rose to up to EUR 1.99 while Xetra fell to the same EUR 1.99, which removed the PRIME+ free-trade advantage on gettex and pushes cost-conscious users onto EIX. Take Scalable for savings plans, funds and a consolidated euro portfolio; look elsewhere for foreign exchange access, derivatives or a human on the phone.

Best for

  • ETF savings plans
  • Fund investors in Germany
  • High-frequency retail traders on a flat rate
  • Consolidating cash and investments

Less suitable for

  • Direct foreign exchange access
  • Options and futures traders
  • Multi-currency portfolios
  • Anyone needing phone support

Pros & cons

Pros

7
  • Free savings-plan executions from EUR 1 with fractional amounts, across more than 2,700 ETFs, 4,500 shares and 3,800 funds - the deepest catalogue in Europe.
  • PRIME+ at EUR 4.99 a month makes trading a fixed cost rather than a variable one; commission-free orders from EUR 250 on EIX break even at roughly five trades a month. Purchases of PRIME ETFs (Amundi, iShares, Vanguard, Xtrackers) from EUR 250 on EIX are free on the FREE Broker as well, so they do not count towards that.
  • Holds its own full ECB banking licence since September 2025 and custodies client securities itself, with cash covered to EUR 100,000 and PRIME+ balances spread across partner banks for wider statutory coverage.
  • 2.60% p.a. on the Scalable Overnight cash account, paid monthly - on unlimited cash, with or without PRIME+.
  • More than 3,800 mutual funds tradable without the front-end load, which is unusual at a flat-fee broker and useful for anyone holding legacy fund positions.
  • German residents get Abgeltungsteuer, solidarity surcharge and church tax withheld and remitted automatically, with annual tax certificates issued.
  • Broker, cash account, robo-advisor (Scalable Wealth) and a securities-backed credit line all sit behind one login, which is a genuine consolidation argument.

Cons

6
  • Since 1 September 2026 gettex orders cost up to EUR 1.99 on every plan, up from EUR 0.99, which wiped out the PRIME+ commission-free advantage that made the subscription compelling on that venue.
  • Only three trading venues - EIX, gettex and Xetra - with no direct access to US or other foreign exchanges, so you buy foreign shares through a German quote rather than on their home market.
  • On EIX, Scalable is the single market maker on the venue it routes you to by default, which is the same broker-as-counterparty conflict the post-PFOF industry inherited.
  • Euro-only accounts with no multi-currency balances and no itemised FX charge, so the true cost of a foreign share purchase is not visible on the contract note.
  • No telephone support: chat and email only, with slow replies and delayed tax documents the most common complaint in user reviews.
  • Fractional trading works in savings plans but not in ordinary lump-sum orders, and there is no demo account.

Rating breakdown

How this score is built

Overall score

Weighted mean of ten criteria

Ten criteria, fixed weights, no commission logic. The overall score is the weighted mean of the sub-scores below.

See the full methodology
  • Fees22%
    4.3

    Commissions, spreads, FX markups, custody and inactivity fees — weighted against realistic trading profiles.

  • Safety & regulation20%
    4.3

    Quality of regulation, investor compensation, public listing, segregation of client funds and track record.

  • Trading platform14%
    3.6

    Feature depth, order types, charting, stability and usability of the desktop and web platforms.

  • Product range10%
    3.9

    Breadth of asset classes, markets, exchanges and individual instruments.

  • Mobile app8%
    4.2

    Completeness and quality of the mobile app relative to the desktop experience.

  • Research7%
    3.4

    Market analysis, screeners, news, price targets and data quality.

  • Customer support7%
    2.8

    Availability, response time, language coverage and competence of customer support.

  • Deposit & withdrawal5%
    3.7

    Available payment methods, fees, processing times and base currencies.

  • Account opening4%
    4.4

    Duration, digital onboarding quality and friction of the account opening process.

  • Education3%
    3.4

    Learning material, webinars, demo account quality and beginner suitability.

Fee overview

Fees compared

Lower is cheaper. Each bar runs from 0 to the highest recorded value; the vertical line marks the median.

Reference order EUR 5,000
€1.99above the median

Median €1.00 across 42 brokers with a comparable value · Range €0.00 to €25.00

Indicative cost of a single EUR 5,000 stock order under the published pricing model — excluding spread and FX markup.

Commission-free stock orders count as zero. Left out are spread-only, tiered and subscription pricing, share CFDs (their commission excludes spread and financing), products a broker does not offer and fees with no recorded amount.

Fee overview — Scalable Capital
ItemRateDetail
Trading costs
Stocks (per order)€1.99Since the repricing of 1 September 2026: gettex and Xetra are up to EUR 1.99 per single order, the same on every plan, with the former Xetra venue fee of 0.01% (minimum EUR 1.50) removed. EIX is cheaper and is where the plans still differ: EUR 0.99 on FREE, and on PRIME (EUR 2.99 per month) and PRIME+ (EUR 4.99 per month) EUR 0 for orders of EUR 250 or more and EUR 0.99 below that. The recorded amount is the gettex/Xetra price, which is what most orders pay. Schedule read on 2026-09-01 from the Scalable Capital Bank GmbH client documentation, Stand September 2026.
US stocks€1.99US shares trade on gettex, EIX or Xetra in euro at the same order fee - there is no separate US commission because there is no direct US exchange access. The euro-quoted price embeds a currency component that Scalable does not itemise.
ETFs€1.99Same order fee as shares: up to EUR 1.99 on gettex and Xetra, EUR 0.99 on EIX. One exception applies on the FREE Broker: purchases of ETFs and ETCs marked PRIME (from Amundi, iShares, Vanguard and Xtrackers) cost EUR 0 on EIX from EUR 250 order volume, while other FREE EIX orders - below EUR 250, sales, and ETFs not marked PRIME - stay at EUR 0.99. Scalable grants this as a special condition that departs from the price list until further notice and can be changed or cancelled without notice. On the PRIME and PRIME+ plans, ETF purchases of EUR 250 or more on gettex were commission-free until 31 August 2026; since the repricing that waiver survives on EIX only. ETF savings-plan executions are free on every plan, from EUR 1.
Options (per contract)Not offeredNo exchange-traded options. Leveraged exposure only via certificates and warrants.
Futures (per contract)Not offeredNo futures of any kind.
EUR/USD spreadn/aNot recorded in our dataset.
CFD index spread (points)n/aNot recorded in our dataset.
Cryptoin the spreadCrypto exposure is through exchange-traded products, not spot coins - you do not hold keys or control a wallet. On top of the normal order fee Scalable adds a spread surcharge of 0.99% on the FREE Broker and 0.69% on PRIME+.
Bonds€1.99Bonds trade at the standard order fee on the supported German venues: up to EUR 1.99 on gettex and Xetra, EUR 0.99 on EIX. The bond and fund rows of the September 2026 price list were not quoted verbatim in our verification, only summarised as following the same category split as shares - re-read them before relying on this figure.
Funds€1.99More than 3,800 mutual funds without the front-end load (Ausgabeaufschlag), at the standard order fee. The fund's own ongoing charge still applies and is paid inside the fund, not to Scalable.
Overnight financingn/aNot recorded in our dataset.
Account & transaction costs
FX conversionn/aNot recorded in our dataset.
Inactivity feen/aNot recorded in our dataset.
Custody feen/aNo custody fee on either plan. PRIME+ costs EUR 4.99 per month as a flat subscription, not as a percentage of assets, so it is worth taking from roughly five orders a month upward.
Withdrawal feefree
Deposit feen/aSEPA transfers are free. An instant deposit - buying power for securities purchases credited against a SEPA direct debit that has not yet been value-dated - costs 0.99% of the amount on the FREE Broker and 0.69% on PRIME and PRIME+, charged on the first EUR 5,000 only: every euro above EUR 5,000 is free, so the charge is at most EUR 49.50 (FREE) or EUR 34.50 (PRIME, PRIME+). EUR 5,000 is a ceiling on the charged amount, not a minimum deposit.
Minimum depositNo minimum deposit
Other fees & incidental costs
FREE Broker subscriptionEUR 0 per month
PRIME+ Broker subscriptionEUR 4.99 per month
Savings plan executionEUR 0 on every plan, from EUR 1, across ETFs, stocks, funds and crypto ETPs
gettex orderUp to EUR 1.99, the same on every plan (since 1 September 2026)
Xetra orderUp to EUR 1.99, the same on every plan; the separate venue fee was removed on 1 September 2026
EIX orderEUR 0.99, or EUR 0 with PRIME+ from EUR 250 - unchanged by the September repricing
Crypto ETP spread surcharge0.99% (FREE) / 0.69% (PRIME+)
Instant deposit0.99% (FREE) / 0.69% (PRIME, PRIME+) of the first EUR 5,000 deposited; every euro above EUR 5,000 free - at most EUR 49.50 / EUR 34.50
Scalable Overnight interest2.60% p.a. since 1 September 2026, variable, calculated daily and paid monthly, on unlimited cash with or without PRIME+
Cash held in the broker clearing account0% p.a.
Securities-backed credit line4.75% p.a. (FREE) / 3.75% p.a. (PRIME+), variable, since 16 September 2026; calculated daily, charged quarterly, up to EUR 250,000
Custody / inactivity feeNone

An empty field means we found no reliable figure. We do not fill those gaps with estimates. See the full methodology

Scalable Capital logo

Scalable Capital

Investing involves risk. Your capital is at risk.

Risk warning: investing in securities involves risk. You may lose some or all of the capital you invest.

Advertising disclosure: where a partnership is active, we may earn a commission through broker links. The provider’s terms apply. Commissions do not influence our ratings; paid placements are separately labelled as sponsored.

Savings plans and interest

What the provider itself states about savings plans and interest on uninvested cash, per market, with source and date checked. “Not documented” means it is not stated where we looked – it does not mean “no”.

Savings plan

offered (documented)

Germany · Scalable Capital Bank GmbH

Investments
ETFs
Cost per ETF execution
free
Minimum amount
€1
Intervals stated
monthly, every two months, quarterly, every six months or yearly

Savings plans from EUR 1, EUR 0 per execution in every broker model (FREE and PRIME+); product costs, spreads, crypto fees and inducements may apply. About 2,700 ETFs, monthly, every two months, quarterly, half-yearly or yearly on nine execution days. The pages read do not cover share or crypto savings plans; the terms for Austria, Spain, France, Italy and the Netherlands were not checked.

Interest on cash

no interest according to the provider

Germany · Scalable Capital Bank GmbH

  • separate account, not counted as interest on investment cash
  • EUR 2.6% · Tagesgeldkonto (Overnight account) (other account)
  • rates dated 1 September 2026 by the source

A separate overnight account: 2.60% p.a., variable, effective since 1 September 2026 (previously 2.50% from 16 March 2026), with or without PRIME+, on unlimited cash, calculated daily and paid monthly. Without PRIME+ the money is placed with banks or in UCITS money market funds, with PRIME+ spread across up to 5 banks. Does not count as interest on depot cash.

Germany · Scalable Capital Bank GmbH

  • no interest according to the provider

Cost overview: broker cash on the clearing account 0% p.a. in both models; only the separate overnight account earns interest, at 2.60% p.a.

Safety & regulation

Group index

88out of 100

The group index summarises recorded licences and company characteristics on a 0–100 scale. It uses the group's strongest licence among other inputs; that licence may not cover your account. It does not assess the protection provided by your particular legal entity. Check that entity's licence and compensation arrangements below.

Structural safeguards

Publicly listedNo
Banking licenceYes
Segregated client moneyYes
Negative balance protectionYes
Audited financial statementsYes
Founded2014

Licences & legal entities

  • BaFin

    Bundesanstalt fuer Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht

    Top-tier regulation
    Local regulator
    Germany
    Legal entity
    Scalable Capital Bank GmbH
    Licence number
    n/a
    Investor protection€100,000

    Entschaedigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken (EdB) - German statutory deposit guarantee

    Cash is covered to EUR 100,000 per client and per bank. PRIME+ balances are spread across Scalable Capital Bank and several partner banks under a 'one account, multiple banks' model, which Scalable states extends statutory coverage to as much as 5 x EUR 100,000. Securities are client property; where delivery failed, the German investor compensation scheme covers 90% of the claim up to EUR 20,000.

  • ECB

    European Central Bank (Single Supervisory Mechanism)

    Top-tier regulation
    Local regulator
    European Union
    Legal entity
    Scalable Capital Bank GmbH — full banking licence granted September 2025, supervised directly by the ECB under the Single Supervisory Mechanism alongside BaFin
    Licence number
    n/a

    Investor protection: n/a

  • Bundesbank

    Deutsche Bundesbank

    Top-tier regulation
    Local regulator
    Germany
    Legal entity
    Scalable Capital Bank GmbH
    Licence number
    n/a

    Investor protection: n/a

Recorded regulatory actions

No regulatory actions are recorded in our dataset.

Regulation and investor compensation reduce risk, they do not remove it. No broker is guaranteed safe.

Markets & products

8 of 14 asset classes tradableExchanges: 3 · venues with direct access
  • Stocks8,000 instruments
  • ETFs2,700 instruments
  • OptionsNot available
  • FuturesNot available
  • ForexNot available
  • CFDsNot available
  • CryptoAvailable
  • BondsAvailable
  • Funds3,800 instruments
  • CommoditiesAvailable
  • IndicesAvailable
  • Warrants625,000 instruments
  • Spread bettingNot available
  • Social tradingNot available

Recorded instrument counts

Stocks
8,000
ETFs
2,700
Funds
3,800
Warrants
625,000

Platforms

  • Scalable Capital web platform

    Web

    Usability

    3.6

    Browser platform covering the broker, the Overnight cash account and the Wealth robo-advisor in one login. Clean and quick for placing orders and managing savings plans; charting and order types are basic, and users report slowdowns during high-volatility sessions.

  • Scalable Capital app

    Mobile

    Usability

    4.2

    iOS and Android. Full parity with the web platform, and the fastest way to start or change a savings plan. No demo mode.

Account & funding

Deposit & withdrawal

Minimum deposit
No minimum deposit
Deposit time
1-2 business days by SEPA; an instant deposit raises the balance available for securities purchases before the SEPA direct debit is value-dated, for 0.99% (FREE) or 0.69% (PRIME, PRIME+) of the first EUR 5,000
Withdrawal time
1-2 business days to the reference account; internal transfers between the clearing and Overnight accounts are real-time
Free withdrawals per month
n/a
Account opening
Roughly 10-15 minutes online with video or eID identification; the securities account is normally usable within one business day. No minimum deposit - a EUR 1 reference transfer verifies the bank link.

At a glance

Demo account
No
Fractional shares
Yes
Retail leverage
n/a
Professional leverage
n/a
Withholding tax agent
Germany, Italy

No CFDs, no margin trading and no short selling. A securities-backed credit line (Scalable Kredit) is offered at a variable 4.75% p.a. on the FREE Broker and 3.75% p.a. on PRIME+ (since 16 September 2026), collateralised against the portfolio. Leveraged exposure is otherwise only available through certificates and warrants, where the maximum loss is the amount invested.

Payment methods

SEPABank transferSEPA Instant

Account currencies

EUR

Account types

  • FREE Broker€0

    No monthly fee. EUR 1.99 per order on gettex and Xetra, EUR 0.99 on EIX (EUR 0 for purchases of PRIME ETFs from EUR 250), free savings plans from EUR 1, 2.60% p.a. on unlimited Overnight balances, held at banks with EUR 100,000 statutory cover each or in money market funds, which are not deposits and carry market risk.

  • PRIME+ Broker€0

    EUR 4.99 per month. Commission-free orders from EUR 250 on EIX — gettex and Xetra cost up to EUR 1.99 on every plan since 1 September 2026 — plus Overnight cash spread across Scalable and four partner banks for up to 5 x EUR 100,000 of statutory deposit cover, cheaper instant deposits and a cheaper credit line.

Customer support

Languages

GermanEnglishItalianSpanishFrenchDutch

Channels

EmailLive chatTicketing

Availability

Monday to Friday, business hours. No telephone line for broker clients.

Phone number
n/a
Service rating
2.8

Full review: Scalable Capital

This review is based on official pricing schedules, legal documents and other available sources. It does not claim that we opened an account with this broker or tested it in practice.

Fees: what Scalable Capital actually costs

Scalable sells two plans, and the right one depends entirely on how often you trade.

FREE Broker costs EUR 0 a month. Orders cost EUR 0.99 on EIX - EUR 0 for purchases of PRIME ETFs from EUR 250 - and up to EUR 1.99 on gettex and Xetra. Savings plans are free. PRIME+ Broker costs EUR 4.99 a month and drops EIX orders of EUR 250 or more to EUR 0, with EUR 0.99 below that threshold. The break-even is around five orders a month; above that PRIME+ is cheaper, and it also buys wider statutory deposit cover for Overnight cash (spread across Scalable and four partner banks), a cheaper credit line and cheaper instant deposits.

Xetra used to be the outlier: EUR 3.99 plus a venue fee of 0.01% of order value with a EUR 1.50 minimum, so a typical Xetra order landed near EUR 5.49 on either plan.

That changed on 1 September 2026. gettex and Xetra now both cost up to EUR 1.99 per order, the same on every plan, and the Xetra venue fee is gone. EIX keeps its EUR 0.99 / free-with-PRIME+ terms. The direction is clear: gettex has lost its price advantage, Xetra has become viable, and EIX - the venue where Scalable is the market maker - is now the cheapest route. If your orders were free on gettex under PRIME+, they are not any more; move them to EIX or accept EUR 1.99.

Other lines worth knowing:

  • Savings plans: EUR 0 on every plan, from EUR 1, with fractional execution on nine dates a month.
  • Crypto ETPs carry a spread surcharge of 0.99% (FREE) or 0.69% (PRIME+) on top of the order fee.
  • Funds: no front-end load on more than 3,800 mutual funds.
  • Instant deposits cost 0.99% (FREE) or 0.69% (PRIME+) of the amount, but only on the first EUR 5,000 - at most EUR 49.50 or EUR 34.50, with every euro above that free; ordinary SEPA is free.
  • No custody fee, no inactivity fee, no withdrawal fee, no minimum deposit.

What is not disclosed is the currency component inside a euro-quoted foreign share. There is no FX line on the contract note because the trade never leaves euro - which means the cost exists but cannot be measured from the fee schedule.

Safety and regulation

Scalable's regulatory position changed materially in 2025 and the old reviews describing it as a front end for Baader Bank are out of date.

Scalable Capital Bank GmbH received a full banking licence from the European Central Bank in September 2025, making it a CRR credit institution supervised by the ECB under the Single Supervisory Mechanism, together with BaFin and the Deutsche Bundesbank. In November 2025 all client securities were migrated from Baader Bank into Scalable's own custody. Baader's only remaining role is market maker on gettex.

What that means for a client:

  • Cash is covered to EUR 100,000 per client per bank under the German statutory deposit guarantee. PRIME+ balances are distributed across Scalable Capital Bank and several partner banks under a 'one account, multiple banks' model, which Scalable states extends statutory coverage to as much as 5 x EUR 100,000.
  • Securities are client property held in custody, returned rather than compensated in an insolvency. Where securities could not be delivered, the German investor compensation scheme covers 90% of the claim up to EUR 20,000.
  • There is no margin account and no CFD book, so no product in the account can generate a loss larger than the amount invested. The securities-backed credit line is collateralised and subject to a collateral call rather than an open-ended liability.

Two honest caveats. Scalable is privately held, so there is no quarterly filing or listed share price to serve as an outside signal - you are relying on ECB supervision rather than public market scrutiny. And vertical integration cuts both ways: Scalable now handles the client relationship, trading, clearing, settlement and custody itself, and acts as single market maker on EIX. That removes counterparty layers, but it also concentrates every function inside one firm.

Trading platforms

There is a web platform and a mobile app, and one login covers the broker, the Overnight cash account, the Scalable Wealth robo-advisor and the credit line. There is no desktop terminal and no public API.

The web platform is well organised for the job it is designed for: portfolio overview with sensible performance attribution, savings plans that take under a minute to create or amend, and an order ticket that shows you the venue and the resulting fee before you commit. The consolidated view across broker, cash and managed portfolios is the strongest single argument for the platform - very few European providers show all three in one place.

Where it stops short is active trading. Charting is serviceable rather than analytical, order types cover market, limit and stop but not conditional or bracket structures, and there is no depth-of-book view. Users also report the platform slowing down during high-volatility sessions, which is exactly when it matters most - not a fatal flaw for a monthly investor, a real one for anyone reacting to news.

The mobile app is the better daily surface: fast, clean, complete parity with the web platform, and the quickest route to adjust a savings plan. There is no demo account on either surface, so there is no risk-free way to try the order flow first.

One structural point about routing: on EIX, the venue Scalable steers you toward with its cheapest pricing, Scalable itself acts as single market maker. Your execution price is therefore set by your broker. Best-execution rules apply, and you can route to Xetra instead, but the cheap route and the conflicted route are the same route.

Markets and products

Scalable's catalogue is broad in instruments and narrow in geography.

The instrument side is genuinely strong:

  • More than 8,000 shares, with savings plans on around 4,500 of them.
  • More than 2,700 ETFs, all available in free savings plans - the deepest ETF savings-plan catalogue in Europe.
  • More than 3,800 mutual funds without the front-end load, which matters if you hold legacy actively managed positions and want them in the same custody account.
  • More than 625,000 derivatives - warrants, knock-outs and certificates from the major issuers.
  • Crypto ETPs on Bitcoin, Ethereum and others, plus bonds, commodities, precious metals and private-market exposure through ELTIFs.

The geographic side is the constraint. Everything trades on exactly three venues: the European Investor Exchange (EIX) in Hanover, gettex in Munich and Xetra in Frankfurt. There is no direct access to Nasdaq, NYSE, the LSE or any Asian market. You can buy Apple, but you buy it in euro from a German market maker during German trading hours, not on Nasdaq. For a buy-and-hold investor that is usually irrelevant; for anyone trading US earnings reactions or needing US market hours, it is disqualifying.

Also absent: no exchange-traded options, no futures, no spot forex, no CFDs, no short selling. Crypto is ETP exposure, not spot coins - you never hold keys.

Savings plans are where the catalogue turns into a product. Executions run on nine dates a month with fractional purchasing from EUR 1 and zero execution fee on every plan, across ETFs, shares, funds and crypto ETPs. That combination - free, fractional, and this broad - is the reason Scalable sits at the top of most German ETF comparisons.

Account opening and funding

Opening takes roughly 10-15 minutes online. You complete the application, answer the appropriateness questions, identify yourself by video call or national eID, and sign digitally. The securities account is normally usable within one business day. There is no minimum deposit; a EUR 1 transfer verifies the link to your reference bank account.

Funding is SEPA-only and euro-only. There are no card deposits, no e-wallets and no multi-currency balances. An ordinary SEPA transfer credits in one to two business days and is free; an instant deposit, which raises your buying power for securities purchases before the direct debit is value-dated, costs 0.99% of the amount on the FREE Broker and 0.69% on PRIME+, charged on the first EUR 5,000 only - every euro above that is free, so the charge tops out at EUR 49.50 or EUR 34.50. Because of that cap it weighs most on small deposits: on the FREE Broker it is 0.99% (EUR 9.90) on EUR 1,000, against under 0.1% (EUR 49.50) on EUR 50,000.

The cash structure is worth understanding because it drives the interest you earn. Money sitting in the broker clearing account earns 0%. Money in the separate Scalable Overnight account earns 2.60% p.a., variable, calculated daily and paid monthly, on unlimited cash - the same with or without PRIME+. Transfers between the two are real-time, so the discipline is simply to keep uninvested cash in Overnight and move it across when you place an order. What PRIME+ changes is where that cash is held: with PRIME+ it is spread across Scalable and four partner banks for up to 5 x EUR 100,000 of statutory deposit cover; without PRIME+ it goes to banks with EUR 100,000 of statutory cover each or to UCITS money market funds, and any one of them can hold the whole balance. A money market fund is not a deposit and carries market risk.

Withdrawals go back to the reference account, are free, and take one to two business days. Savings-plan contributions run by direct debit, so the whole flow can be automated once and left alone. For German residents, Abgeltungsteuer is withheld and remitted automatically and annual tax certificates are issued - though users regularly report those documents arriving late in peak season. Outside Germany, tax handling is your own responsibility.

Research and education

Scalable sits between the neobrokers, which offer nearly nothing, and the full-service brokers, which bundle analyst research. It is closer to the middle than either.

The genuinely useful part is portfolio analytics. The platform breaks a portfolio down by asset class, region, sector and currency, shows contribution to performance, and does it across the broker account and any Scalable Wealth mandate together. For someone running a three-fund portfolio and wanting to know whether they are accidentally 60% US technology, that is worth more than an analyst note.

ETF selection tooling is the other strength, which follows from the business: with 2,700 ETFs in savings plans, Scalable has to help you choose. Filters on index, replication method, distribution policy, TER, fund size and domicile are all there and work properly.

What is missing is single-stock research: no analyst consensus, no target prices, no earnings estimates, no proprietary equity coverage. News is aggregated rather than curated.

Education is solid on fundamentals and German-specific practicalities - how Abgeltungsteuer works, what a Freistellungsauftrag does, how savings plans compound, how ETFs differ from active funds - and Scalable's own market commentary is written by people who ran quantitative portfolios rather than by a copywriter. There is no structured curriculum, no webinar series worth the name and no demo account. Adequate for the investor Scalable is built for; thin for anyone who wants to be taught to trade.

Customer support

Support is chat and email only. There is no telephone line for broker clients, no branch network and no weekend cover. Coverage runs on business days, in German and English with additional language support in the Italian, Spanish, French and Dutch markets.

The recurring complaint in user reviews is response time, and it clusters in two places. The first is tax documentation: annual Steuerbescheinigungen and loss-offset certificates are reported as arriving late during peak filing season, which is precisely when they are needed. The second is anything non-standard - inbound portfolio transfers, corporate actions, account changes after a move abroad, inheritance cases. These generate ticket threads rather than conversations, and users report waits measured in days.

Straightforward questions get handled competently, and the help centre is better written than most - many routine issues genuinely resolve without contacting anyone.

The fair reading is that support is sized for the price. A broker charging EUR 0-4.99 a month cannot staff a phone desk, and Scalable has chosen to spend on product and licensing instead. That is a defensible trade for a savings plan you check quarterly. It is a poor one if you hold a large or complicated portfolio and expect to reach a named person quickly. Anyone in that position should keep expectations - or a second broker relationship - accordingly.

Frequently asked questions

Since the repricing of 1 September 2026 the free-trade benefit survives only on EIX: gettex now costs up to EUR 1.99 on every plan. So PRIME+ pays for itself on order fees alone if you place roughly five or more EIX orders of EUR 250 or more per month, which are commission-free against EUR 0.99 on FREE - except purchases of PRIME ETFs (Amundi, iShares, Vanguard, Xtrackers), which are free on EIX from EUR 250 on FREE as well and so do not count. The Overnight rate does not differ: 2.60% on unlimited cash with or without PRIME+. What PRIME+ changes for a larger cash balance is deposit protection - the cash is spread across Scalable and four partner banks for up to 5 x EUR 100,000 of statutory cover, whereas without PRIME+ the whole balance can sit with a single bank covered to EUR 100,000 or in a money market fund, which is not a deposit and carries market risk. That cover, a cheaper credit line and cheaper instant deposits can justify the subscription on their own.

User reviews

Community average

No reviews yet — be the first.

Rating distribution

No reviews yet — be the first.

No reviews yet — be the first.

Every review is screened for spam and abuse before publication — negative experiences stay up. We do not verify whether the author is actually a customer of the broker.

Alternatives to Scalable Capital

Brokers with a comparable product range and a similar market position.

  • flatex logo

    flatex

    Medium and large single orders

    Risk warning: CFDs and other leveraged products are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how these products work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

  • Questrade logo

    Questrade

    Canadian self-directed investors

    Risk warning: CFDs and other leveraged products are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how these products work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

  • comdirect logo

    comdirect

    Investors who want one full-service account

    Risk warning: CFDs and other leveraged products are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how these products work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

  • Public.com logo

    Public.com

    US options income traders

    Risk warning: CFDs and other leveraged products are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how these products work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

Sources & data provenance

Data as of: 21 August 2026

These figures were compiled from the sources below, the broker's own pricing page first. External links open in a new tab.

Dataset compiled on

21 August 2026

This record has not yet been double-checked by a human. Please verify every figure against the broker's own fee schedule.

Source

Fees, licences and product lists change constantly. Verify every figure that matters to you on the broker's own site before opening an account.

Scalable Capital logo

Scalable Capital

Direct link to provider

3.9Visit broker

Risk warning: investing in securities involves risk. You may lose some or all of the capital you invest.